Untitled-2

I don’t know about you but I love grocery shopping. I am always on a hunt for new healthy finds that I can incorporate into my daily eating routine. I can spend hours, yes hours, strolling through aisles, reading ingredient labels and comparing prices. I used to be convinced that healthy eating is almost impossible on a tight budget. Oh boy, I was wrong. Although a pack of Ramen noodles is more dense in terms of calories, an apple can provide the nutrients that your body needs and also keeps you full longer than a bowl of salty highly-processed food. Both are  equally cheap.

During my last grocery shopping trip I was looking for a new peanut butter to try with my morning oats. I went through a PB2 phase that didn’t last too long. I found it too expensive to use daily and it also lacked that creamy texture that I look for in PB. I reserved a powdered form for smoothies and baking.

I also tried almond butter which was amazingly delicious but a little too high in calories for my liking.

I finally found my favorite PB of all times: Dark Chocolate PB  from Peanut Butter & Co.

pb

This stuff is absolutely great! It reminds me a lot of Nutella but unlike the creamy hazelnut spread, this has a strong and filling properties of a nut butter.

Untitled-4

It’s only 170 calories per 2 Tbsp. I use 1 Tbsp in the morning which I find is enough to add that chocolate peanut peanut butter taste to my breakfast.

Granted, it is not as good for you as no-salt, no-sugar PB versions but I absolutely adore it.

One downside of my lovely find is the price. It is around 4 dollars so it is on a more pricey side; however, if you are a Nutella addict who is looking for rich-chocolate flavor in a nut butter, this PB would be perfect for you.

Another find comes from the granola bar aisle. I am not a huge fan of granola bars. I jumped on a protein bar bandwagon in the past but quickly found out that a 200 calorie tiny bar never satisfied my hunger. They were basically Snickers candies in trendy looking wrappers. Since I was waiting on my car to have its oil changed, I decided to revisit healthy snacks and here’s what I found:

Untitled-5

They are awesome! Although, at first, I wasn’t too keen on the slightly chalky texture, it grew on me and now Good in Natural are my favorite to-go snacks. I found them on sale for 69 cents so I stocked up on these goodies. There are between 220-230 calories each. Unlike other snack bars, these kept me full for almost 3 hours which I consider a great success. I am also very happy with their ingredients:

Gluten Free Rolled Oats, Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Diced Soynuts, Raisins, Almond Butter, Organic Maple Syrup, Soy Protein Isolate, Dry Pumpkin Seeds, Roasted Almonds, Chicory Root Fiber, Chopped Walnuts, Diced Apples, Milled Flaxseeds, Sesame Seeds, Ground Cinnamon, Natural Flavors, Vegetable Glycerin, Soy Lecithin,Brown Rice Flour, Ground Nutmeg, Peanut Flour.

I don’t feel like I have to learn another language to understand the label. I am satisfied nutrition-wise as well:Untitled-6

signature

Leave a Reply

